When Birthdays are for Remembering

My Dad, Arthur Rubinoff and me, c. 1986.

 

This is my absolute, hands-down favorite picture of all time. Look at my Dad’s face.  It says, ‘This girl is nuts, and I love her with all my heart.’

I was about 18 years old.  I guess someone wanted to take a picture, so he grabbed me and pulled me close.  He probably said something like, ‘Get over here Little Chicky’ (or Mara Bara, or just MB-he definitely was one for the nicknames).

The last time I saw my Dad, he was pretty much sleeping all the time.  Right when I got up to leave, after sitting there holding his hand for about an hour, his eyes fluttered open, and he said, ‘I love you MB’. Then he smoochy faced me (like air kissing but with meaning), and closed his eyes again.

I called my husband and told him what happened, and I said, ‘If I that was the last time, then I’m ok.’  And it was the last time.  But of course, it wasn’t ok.  Those were brave words from a girl about to lose her Daddy.

Today would be my Dad’s 71st Birthday.  I’m thinking about you Daddy. About all the happy and silly times we had.  About the crazy things you did with us kids on our weekends.  About how you introduced me to the beauty in art and the art in food.  How you taught me dirty jokes (to which neither of us can ever remember the punchlines). About how you passed on your affinity for hot sauce to your Mini-Me, Little J (as well as your incredible brains).

About the wise words you said to me that I was never ready to listen to, but that now I’m just hearing.  About how you frustrated me, pushed me, and challenged me to be a better person.  About how I glowed when you told me I was a wonderful mother, and excellent caregiver, the best cook.  About how I melted when you would squish me tight and tell me ‘I love you.’

Happy 71st bday Daddy. We love you, we miss you. Your cake is in the doggie bag, ready to take home for later.

ps: I’m shaking my Keppel curls*, just for you.

*Keppel:  Yiddish slang for head.  When I was little I had what’s commonly referred to in movies as a ‘jew-fro’. Whenever my Dad would pick me up on weekends, the first thing he’d say to me was: ‘Hey Chicky, Shake those Keppel Curls’.  And I’d give a little wiggle of my tush, then shake my curls like it was nobody’s business.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. So touching…actually teared up. Really can’t think of anything that wouldn’t tarnish how beautiful this piece is…happy birthday to your dad. He must be so proud, to receive a gift as beautiful as this.

    Reply
  2. this had me giggling and crying both, my dear! What a wonderful way to remember your dad, I know it seems hard – but remember how truly blessed you are to have had such a special relationship with him. Big hugs and giggles for you today!!

    Reply
    • You’re hugging me a lot lately. I’m expecting a real one too!! Laughing and crying is the best, especially all at once.

      Reply
  3. Sara

     /  September 3, 2011

    Happy Birthday, Arthur! You were truly loved.

    Reply
  4. Happy Birthday to your dad. And a big hug to you. This has got to be a difficult and emotional day. Beautiful post

    Reply
  5. Happy Birthday to you Dad. The picture is great, and so are your memories.

    Reply

Leave a comment