Procrastination vs. Slob-ery: I’ve Got Better Things to Do

 
 
Procrastination: Doing anything except what you should be doing. Commonly confused with laziness and slothfulness.

I am a huge procrastinator. Sometimes its because I’m very busy and when I feel pressured, I don’t do anything. Other times its because I’m just avoiding unpleasant or onerous tasks. These are some things I do when I’m procrastinating:

  1. Go on Twitter when I’m supposed to be writing my blog) (when I’m supposed to do just about anything)
  2. Hide envelopes that need to be actioned (from myself)
  3. Order To Do List notepads
  4. Make elaborate platters of snacks such as chips, tzatziki, cut up veggies
  5. Check Facebook, check BBM, check BBM status updates
  6. Read my own blog and snigger. Read someone else’s blog. Comment on blogs. Check my own blog stats.
  7. Look around a bit (I mean like the room. As in staring into space)
  8. Read entertainment news on Yahoo and possibly watch Samba Baby Dancing
  9. Enter contests on sites like www.yummymummyclub.ca
  10. Drink coffee with a pensive look my face as if I’m thinking about pulling the envelopes out of hiding
  11. Seriously prioritize about what HAS to get done today, and what can DEFINITELY wait until tomorrow
  12. Watch my dogs wrestle. Take pictures of my dogs wrestling. Talk to my dogs.  Talk to my nanny about my dogs.
  13. Ponder the boxes in my basement that haven’t been unpacked since I moved into my house 13 years ago
  14. Go out to get Starbucks
  15. Wander around in Winners or other retail outlets that requires extensive wandering

I completely admit to my procrastinatory ways. I have no shame, and eventually everything gets done. However, I completely take offence to those who colour code their closets confusing procrastination with slob-ery. I am not a slob. My mother used to say I’m a slob. I can’t imagine why, as my closet looks perfectly fine.

What’s wrong with my closet?

My closet looks like that because I have better things to do than hang up my clothes.  Imagine everything that I can get done (see list above) when I’m not worrying about making my closet look like this:

PS:  This is my daughter’s room.  Now, SHE is a slob.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I totally get this one!!!!

    Reply
  2. Staring around the room is my #1 form of procrastination. It’s good times. I’m going to do it now, with a cup of coffee.

    Reply
  1. I’m a One Woman Gal. Sort of Like a Gibbon. «

Leave a comment